November Reads Part II

Ctrl, Alt, Dlt: How I Grew Up Online by Emma Gannon 

I love Emma Gannon’s blog and I have recently also got very into her podcast so I was sure that I would enjoy her book – she surpassed my expectations. Her book is very empowering, honest and thought provoking. Emma raises issues that affect young people today as they grow up alongside the internet through her own experiences and I cannot think of a more topical subject. I loved how honest she was and how she managed to deliver a positive message at the end of each chapter about feeling empowered, doing your own thing and utilizing the internet in the way that will most benefit you.

I feel like this should be mandatory reading for every teenage girl/young woman trying to figure life and herself out in the digital age.

The Girl With the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer 

The Girl With the Lower Back Tattoo is a collection of essays written by Amy Schumer (I love that it’s not a memoir, as she emphatically states in the introduction). I read the preview for this book on Google books and I was quite intrigued and impressed by the first essay. I recognized Amy’s trademark honesty but I also felt like she was sharing some genuine insights and presenting an empowering message.

Now, this is not the most amazing book that I have ever read and I didn’t walk away from it a changed woman but I did enjoy it. I have a lot of respect for what Amy represents – honesty, vulnerability, female empowerment and living life on your own terms – and I loved that every essay had a point or a certain life lesson to share in a very non-preachy way. I really respect Amy’s honesty as it means that she actually talks about real life stuff and serious things that she has been through. I think that it’s great that a voice like Amy’s exists.

My favorite essays were: “My Only One Night Stand” (great for any woman who has ever been slut shamed or felt that they couldn’t express their sexuality), “How To Become a Stand Up Comedian (I have so much respect for where Amy is at in her career now because I can see how much hard work went into it), “Letter to the Editor” (a great essay on the world’s double standards for beauty), “Mom” (family is complicated and I loved Amy’s honesty about that fact), and “Forgiving my Lower Back Tattoo” (easily the essay that made me feel the most empowered and bad ass – on owning your mistakes).

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart 

This book was brilliant. Genuinely brilliant. It is beautifully written with a dark undercurrent that builds to a heart wrenching ending. It is truly worth the hype as a very sophisticated YA novel that will stay with you long after it has ended.

I don’t want to say too much about the plot because I really want this book to unravel for you as it did for me – slowly, gradually darker and deeper – but, basically, it is about the perfect, beautiful Sinclair family. However, under their perfect exterior lie dark secrets, complicated family dynamics and tragedy.

I was gripped from page one and barely put the book down for days. Read it. Seriously.

 

Leave a Reply

