The Books Currently on my Wishlist

This month makes it a year since I moved to the UK, started university and discovered Netflix (we didn’t have Netflix in South Africa until December last year and, let’s face it, it’s just not as good as the UK version).

This year everything looks very different. I am staying in South Africa, have switched to doing my degree by correspondence and, generally, I am trying to get back into the healthy habits I had before I moved countries and plunged into a cycle of depression which necessitated many mind numbing Netflix sessions to distract my me.

Hell, this post got serious.

Basically, I am trying to get back to me. I am making choices that I believe will give me the best chance at happiness, the best chance at healing myself and becoming a stronger person. I have created an environment for myself that inspires me, that makes me smile and that makes me want to be better. Of course, I still love a good Netflix session to de-stress every once in a while but I’m trying to balance my Netflix time out a bit more. With yoga. With walks on the beach. With cooking. With books.

So, here are the books currently on my reading wishlist. My level of excitement over the prospect of reading them is ridiculously high.

  1. Spectacles by Sue Perkins

spectacles

I love Sue Perkins and thus I am ashamed to say that I didn’t even know that she had written a book until I stumbled across it in a bookstore last week. I read a few pages and it just seemed so warm and funny. Did I mention that it’s a book written by SUE PERKINS!

2. Yes Please by Amy Poehler

yes-please

Yes, I know that I am really behind on this one. I don’t really have much of an excuse other than I have been very disappointed with a lot of American comedy celebrities books over the last couple of years which made me pretty much give up on them totally. I won’t lie, I am still a bit wary but Amy Poehler’s book does intrigue me. Maybe this one will be different. I’ll keep you posted.

3. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

big-magic

Elizabeth Gilbert might actually be my favorite author. That is a big statement given that I have only read her mega famous memoir Eat, Pray, Love and it’s follow up, Committed, but I have loved both of those books with such intense passion that it certainly means that she should at least be in contention for the top spot. Therefore, I am naturally desperate to read Big Magic. I can’t imagine that it will be anything less than inspiring.

4. Buffering by Hannah Hart

buffering

Like comedy writers books, I am a bit wary of Youtubers books. I haven’t really been inspired to pick one up yet and commit to buying it. I love Youtubers and I have a lot of respect for many of them but I’m just not one hundred percent sure about the whole “Youtubers writing books craze” that is raging at the moment. It feels a bit gimicky. However, I cannot help but be excited for Hannah Hart’s upcoming memoir. She is on a very short list of well known people that I would really love to meet. She has always struck me as so genuine, thoughtful and intelligent and I don’t think that I can have that opinion of her and then not give her book a chance.

5. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

milk-and-honey

I keep hearing about this book. The reviews that I’ve seen have been quite mixed but, from the little snippets of the book that I’ve read online, I think that I’m going to love it. It seems so different and interesting. Plus, I absolutely love poetry but haven’t found much modern poetry that inspires me. I have high hopes for this one.

Leave a Reply

