Blueberry, Coconut and Pistachio Granola

I went through a serious granola phase about a year or so ago. I always had a homemade batch ready. I chose to make my own because (a) I can make it healthier, (b) I can customize my own flavors and (c) why not? Honestly, homemade granola is so much nicer than store bought because you can do anything you want with it. Any flavor combo you like. You can make it as healthy or as unhealthy as you want. It’s kind of awesome. I try to mostly opt for a healthy option because if I wanted unhealthy cereal I’d just buy a packet of rice krispies and drown them in sugar.

Now, I’ve recently become a more savory breakfast person (yay for avocado toast and fried eggs) but when I’m feeling a sweet breakfast or want to be virtuous a bowl of homemade granola with sliced banana and milk (usually non-dairy) is what I head for. Plus, everyone needs a healthy cereal replacement for when the late night munchies hit. Seriously.

This blueberry, coconut and pistachio combo was by far the best granola recipe that I ever made. It is so simple, so delicious and it really is my perfect mix of flavors. As I said, I usually add a sliced banana for sweetness, texture and an extra hit of fruit as my fruit intake is pretty poor compared to my veggie consumption. The two are a match made in heaven. What’s great about making granola is that you can make a big tub (or two, if you really want it to last) and store it for ages. A healthy breakfast/snack sorted with minimal thought.

I’m working on getting back into the habit of having a healthy breakfast with some fruit involved, hence my rekindled love for this recipe. Sweet blueberries, vibrant green pistachios, crunchy oats, a bit of skin glowing goodness from coconut oil and it’s so easy to make – you need to give it a go.

IMG_1449

Ingredients – Makes One Large Jar

3 cups Oats (whole oats, not the instant processed kind)

1 cup Raw Pistachios

1/2 cup Raw Pumpkin Seeds

1 cup Dried Blueberries

1/2 cup Desiccated Coconut

3 tbs Coconut Oil

3 tbs Maple Syrup

IMG_1454

Pre heat your oven to 190C.

Mix the oats, pistachios and pumpkin seeds together in a large mixing bowl.

Melt the coconut oil, if it is solid, and pour it over your oat mixture. Pour in your maple syrup and mix well.

Tip your mix into a lined baking tray and spread out evenly.

Bake for 40 minutes, tossing every 10 minutes to make sure everything toasts evenly – nothing worse than having half burnt, half soggy granola.

After 40 minutes, take your granola out of the oven and allow to cool.

Mix in your dried blueberries and coconut.

Store in an airtight container – and enjoy!

IMG_1471

One thought on “Blueberry, Coconut and Pistachio Granola

  1. Ohmygosh!!! just look at that!!!!!!! its awesome!!!! who on earth can resist that!! It looks gorgeous! I am going through a major granola phase myself! and will be posting soon my endeavours! Just posted the butter chicken omelette recipe on the blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

